Formę czasownika zakończoną końcówką „–ing”, czyli angielski “gerund” stosujemy:

-  po przyimkach:

After inventing the dishwasher, people don’t have to do the dishing themselves.

Lazy people aren’t interested in studying any subjects.

-  kiedy słowo z końcówką „–ing” ma służyć za podmiot lub temat zdania:

Stopping the traffic is easy.

He thinks that looking at the stars isn’t exactly a hobby.

- po niektórych czasownikach takich jak:

  • love (I love swimming breakstroke style)
  • enjoy (Tom enjoyed watching that film last night)
  • like (They like going out with their friends)
  • dislike (We rather dislike tidying our room)
  • hate (I hate doing my homework)
  • prefer (She prefers going to the cinema)
  • admit (Mary admitted stealing his phone)
  • deny (He denied seeing that woman)
  • fancy (Do you fancy going to the disco?)
  • imagine (I can’t imagine forgetting the black pen for the exam)
  • involve (This job involves travelling abroad)
  • mention (He didn’t mention talking to Gary)
  • regret (I regret splitting up with you)
  • risk (I would never risk losing my job)
  • spend (She spends a lot of time going fishing)
  • suggest (Jane suggested me learning more)

Czasowniki zakończone „–ing” występują także przy konstrukcjach tego typu:

Henry couldn’t help/stop laughing.

We don’t mind waiting a bit longer.

It’s no use doing this exercises.

It is worth living in a big city.

opracowała: Beata Cichy

